Google Pixel Event: What We Expect And How To Watch Live Event

0
60

Apple unveiled its new iPhones on Sept. 12. Last week, Amazon surprised us with five new Echo products.

Now, it’s Google’s turn.

WHEN: Wednesday, 9 a.m. PT; 12 noon ET;9.30 p.m. India; 5 p.m. UK; 3 a.m. (Thursday) Sydney — or see the start time in your time zone.

WHERE: San Francisco, California

We’re a few hours away from Google’s big hardware event, where the company is expected to release a whole new slate of devices, including new Pixel 2 and Pixel 2 XL smartphones, along with a fancy new Chromebook, a miniature Google Home, a new Daydream headset, and possibly some surprises that haven’t leaked out yet.

Watch This Video Directly on YouTube

On the smartphone front, the company is rumored to release upgraded versions of the Pixel smartphone, which took the mobile world by storm last year as the first Android phones that Google actually designed and put its own branding on.

Now, we’ll see what a year’s worth of experience and user feedback mean for the company’s sophomore smartphones. The two devices are said to offer improved cameras, water resistance, and — for the Pixel 2 XL, at least — a new, bezel-free design similar to the Galaxy S8.

There are leaks for a new Google Home Mini — what could be to the Amazon Echo Dot what the full-size Google Home is to the Echo — and an updated Daydream VR headset, too.

The company seems to be working on updates to almost its entire hardware lineup. There’s purportedly a Pixelbook set to be announced, the successor to Google’s Chromebook Pixel that could set a high bar for Chromebooks.

The company has been diving hard into consumer electronics this past year in an effort to reposition itself as a gadget company. Even as Google works with top-name manufacturers like Samsung and Motorola to put its Android operating system on high-end handsets.

The company pushes its Chrome OS laptop software onto notebooks from Acer and Lenovo that make their way into classrooms and offices, the tech giant is still intent on building its own hardware.

To help it make better phones, Google acquired a division of smartphone-maker HTC. We likely won’t see any of the fruits of the that deal, which happened just last month, in today’s Pixel phone. But we will see where Google’s ambitions will likely steer the company in the future.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here